办公室设计能否促进创新?

DPR Construction案例研究

美国弗吉尼亚州莱斯顿市

Download PDF  (1.2 MB)

从后面看,一个男人戴着安全帽,身上橙色的防护背心上写着“DPR Construction”几个字。

案例研究

2:31

案例研究:DPR Construction

看看DPR如何创造了一个适合创新的工作场所。

当DPR Construction的总监Randy Shumaker带我们参观公司最新建成的大楼现场时,气温直逼38℃。一缕阳光透过层层云障照耀着高耸的钢筋铁骨;发光的工字钢梁直冲云霄,像一支虬劲的笔触涂抹着印象画一般的天空。

该公司一直采用行业领先、以技术为基础的建筑方式——这种方式激励许多人加入了DPR的团队,这座即将竣工的制造厂只是其中之一。  

“现在人们修筑建筑的方法大抵和40年前差不多,”Shumaker介绍说,“螺母和螺栓都是一样的,只是采用了不同的技术。我想学一些新的东西,DPR的创新理念深深吸引了我。”

“现在人们修筑建筑的方法大抵和40年前差不多。螺母和螺栓都是一样的。只是采用了不同的技术。”

-施工总监Randy Shumaker

人们围着会议桌坐在Sayl座椅里交谈。

DPR创新的建筑方式提高了公司规划和建造高度复杂结构的整体效率,并达到严格的安全、技术和可持续标准。当DPR打算搬到弗吉尼亚莱斯顿的新办公室时,DPR团队成员个个跃跃欲试,想一展身手,创造一个能充分展示其建筑专长的工作场所。新场地将更好地反映公司赋权和协作的文化,并鼓励跨代交流思想理念,以便推动DPR的创新引领,持续向前发展。

“我们要做的工作就是让年轻一代得到成长,让他们理解建筑的错综复杂,”Shumaker表示,“而他们也会与我们分享他们学到的新理念。这样会让我们成为一个更强大的团队,一个更优秀的公司。”

两个人在高台桌前谈话,另一个人在打电话。

在整个DPR的新办公室里,随时随地都可以进行非正式互动。公司所有部门员工在Plaza(广场)休息时都可以彼此接触沟通。

赋予思想成长的空间

阅读文章

营造创新的空间

在搬到莱斯顿前,DPR曾面临一个挑战,那就是旧的办公室渐渐成为了人与人之间沟通的阻碍,而这种沟通对于公司的成功是必不可少的。“对我们而言,创新的核心就是合作——一起想出新的方法来解决老问题,”DPR的项目总监Chris Gorthy表示,“当我们在旧的办公室很难突破时,就知道该有所改变了。”

尽管DPR目前的办公室为个人工作站分配了足够的空间,DPR的员工却这样形容这些空间,既“人满为患”又“与世隔绝”。由于缺少用于社交的公共区域,会议室又十分紧俏,很多人宁愿在现场办公,也不愿来办公室。

DPR团队在寻找新的工作环境时,DPR管理委员会成员Greg Haldeman表示,公司很高兴有机会创造一个能更好地反映其品牌与业务、更多促进协作的工作场所。项目团队确定了几个目标,其中包括以下两点:创建一个能展示其可持续建筑专长的办公室,并设计一个让他们可以测试和评测各种工作场所策略的生活实验室,这类工作场所能鼓励人们分享知识和有创造性地解决问题。

为了达到第一个目标,DPR团队决定重新使用在弗吉尼亚莱斯顿的场地。“我们想证明,建筑是可以重复使用的,即使是这样一栋35年的旧建筑,不管天气条件有多么恶劣,我们还是能达到净能耗建筑认证的标准。这将是华盛顿都会区第一栋能达到这个标准的建筑。”DPR的项目经理Chris Hoffman表示。 团队已经建造过三栋通过净能耗认证的DPR办公室,为此次项目积累了丰富的数据和经验。然而,可持续性只是一个开始。

“Herman Miller帮助我们思考每个空间中动词与名词的关系——思考人们的行为并围绕该行为设计环境。”

-项目执行官Chris Gorthy

玻璃墙封闭的办公空间里,一个男人坐在办公桌前。

DPR希望此次创造的办公室能为未来工作场所设计树立一个新的标准。为了帮助该公司实现这个目标,并将其在建筑方面的元素渐进式融入工作场所设计,DPR找到了Herman Miller及其以研究为基础的Living Office。

在Herman Miller开展DPR项目期间,专家们引导其团队完成了Living Office的发现之旅。这次研讨会为DPR及其设计合作伙伴SmithGroupJJR提供了他们所需,以明确和整合公司的目标、特性和活动。

Gorthy在参观Herman Miller西密歇根州的总部时,了解到这种尝试所涵盖的并不仅仅是家具,为此他感到很吃惊。“我原本以为这次行程多半就是卖给我们一些家具,但他们所做的却是向我们传播一些营造空间和打造不同工作场所的理念,”他说,“Herman Miller帮助我们思考每个空间中动词与名词的关系——思考人们的行为并围绕该行为设计环境。”

对DPR而言,在发现过程中出现得最多的动词就是协作。无论是在办公室还是在工地现场,承包商、建筑师、工程师和项目经理都需要有各种不同的配置,让他们可以方便地沟通和项目跟进。每种场合的需求都不尽相同,为满足这些需求,仅仅配置几间会议室是远远不够的。

“此次前往Herman Miller,帮助DPR了解到员工的感受对于企业发展至关重要,”SmithGroupJJR的首席设计师Marc Schneiderman表示,“看到整个办公室的家具和配置,我们对于他们的工作场所为何有更灵活的布局有了一些视觉上的直观体会。

会议室里,员工坐在Aeron座椅上听演示报告。

这种灵活的Forum(论坛)设置利用陈设和工具将公司所有部门的人聚集到一起,以此促进大家分享想法。

尤为适合互动

通过Living Office的发现之旅,DPR和SmithGroupJJR对于团队互动性的工作方式有了新的认识——这种以研究为基础的认识能帮助团队更好的均衡选择配置,而这正是公司取得成功所必需的。从适合集体活动的Meeting Space(会议空间)和Workshop(工作坊)到适合处理个人任务的Hive(蜂巢)和Haven(避风港),Living Office为设计团队构建了10种能优化工作与互动的框架。它还可以帮助团队在入驻后评估其工作场所的性能情况。

“DPR不仅仅是挽救了一座破旧的建筑,”Schneiderman说道,“更赋予其新的个性魅力。”这种崭新的个性魅力远不止在工作场所摆放漂亮的家具,增添一些明亮茂盛的植物那么简单,而是承载着更重要的目的。从厨房到连接空间,再到各种集会配置,都与DPR的协作文化相呼应。

“从工作场所的角度,我们为员工创造了许多活动区域,”Gorthy表示, “我们倡导开放式的办公室文化,构建让人可以自由协作的交流空间。”

图表显示了办公室重新配置之前及之后所支持的工作活动。

新的办公室考虑到所有类型的互动可能性。但DPR最重视的互动恰恰是那些无法人为预测的。

“Herman Miller和我们探讨了如何促使即兴的对话,这是我从未想到过的。”DPR的业务开发经理Jodi Paci表示,“如果只有会议室却没有自由交流的场所,往往会很难成功。即兴的对话并不是说有就有的。需要有鼓励促使它发生的配置。”

开放式的办公空间里,人们坐在电脑前工作。

新办公室开放灵活的布局让员工在做好个人任务之余可以自由与人交谈、提问或即时分享。

这种即兴的互动是Paci在带领潜在客户参观时最先领悟的。她意识到,在宽敞明亮的Hive设置中,并排坐在一起工作的员工沟通越来越便捷,他可以自由地与同事交流和提问。

条形图中对比了DPR Construction的办公大楼改建前后对各种工作活动的支持情况。
图表显示了员工对非正式工作区域的感受。

除了主要办公空间之外,开放式的长廊上还配置用玻璃墙隔开的Meeting Space、Workshop和Haven,让员工可以选择不同的场景设置,评估项目、集体讨论、私下谈话,或者全神贯注地处理个人事务。 

“我们的旧办公大楼有三间会议室,”Shumaker说,“在这里,我们有10-12种不同的Meeting Space,您可以根据自己要进行的互动来选择合适的房间。如果员工遇到问题,他们更愿意在更舒服的环境下开始集体讨论和对话。”

沐浴在自然光线下的休闲区里,两个人坐着看电脑屏幕。

经常外出到现场工作的承包商、现场总监和其他员工现在也有了各种可以开会和彼此通报项目最新进展的设置。

图表展示了员工对工作协作的感受。

DPR的Forum包含了巨大的场地配置,可作为公司大型聚会的场地或者员工培训室,在Forum外面,我们利用一个红酒酒吧来充当Landing(过渡平台)。员工在这个酒吧里喝点饮料或者吃点小零食,随意会见和结交朋友。

“现在我们可以举行国家级别的会议,这是以前的办公室无法实现的。”Chris Gorthy表示,“我们可以促使公司各部门的专家与员工进行互动。员工也越来越愿意分享故事和信息,这种知识的传播有助于我们融会贯通和解决问题。”

People stand and drink wine at a high-top table.

Plaza的配置坐落在公司的正中央,员工都很喜欢互动社会化工作格局。员工彼此轻松地分享自己的想法,也能更自信地进行观点碰撞共同提升。

结果就在这里

“DPR的众不同之处就是他们有很强的凝聚力和协作精神,”Schneiderman谈到,“在以前的设施配置里,很难看到这一点。在那种布局下,员工的日常活动并没有什么逻辑性的次序。对他们而言,新的工作场所有了颠覆性的改变。它能顺应员工工作的方式。”

第三方研究机构的大量数据也证实,这种转变正在提高员工和组织的绩效。在搬进新办公室之前和之后,Herman Miller针对工作场所的效用分别进行了Leesman调查。积极的结果让DPR跻身于2017年绩效最好的公司行列。

数据图显示了工作场所在改建前后的效用变化。

Leesman是一项全球性的对标服务,基于成千上万家组织的数据基础,专门对工作场所的效用进行收集和分析。 DPR的优异成绩为其赢得了Leesman+认证——只有6%的参与机构能获此殊荣——并让他们跻身2017年Leesman十大高绩效公司之一。

DPR还按照国际WELL建筑研究院(IWBI)的标准评测了自己的工作场所,IWBI是一家推广健康与幸福建筑的全球性机构。在其他几个类别中,DPR在提供身心舒适的设计考量方面也获得了优异成绩,包括坐立两用办公桌和能提供安静与隐私的设施配合。

WELL评测的是设施的效用,而Leesman评测的是员工的积极性,Gorthy相信DPR的工作场所正帮助其员工贯彻组织的目标。“我们为了员工投资建设了这个新环境,也让我们可以利用办公室环境来提升自我和他人,帮助他们不断进步。我们可以分享已经取得的成就——我们如何尊重个人与环境——并产生广泛的社会影响。”

A man sits in a Swoop lounge chair while looking at his laptop.

通过创建这个关爱员工身体与情感需求的工作场所,DPR向世人展示了其一贯向客户宣传的可持续性和促进健康的建筑原则。

DPR Construction

DPR Construction created a new workplace that’s primed for interaction and innovation with Living Office.

Reston, Virginia, US

Download PDF  (1.2 MB)

The temperature is pushing 100 degrees Fahrenheit as Randy Shumaker, a general superintendent for DPR Construction, tours the firm’s latest building site. A haze of sun and clouds blanket the towering steelscape; glistening I-beams spike right angles into the impressionistic sky.

This soon-to-be manufacturing facility is just one example of the company’s industry-leading, technology-based building approach—an approach that inspires many to join the DPR team.   

“Buildings basically go together the same way they did 40 years ago,” says Shumaker. “The nuts and bolts are the same, but what’s different is the technology. I wanted to learn something new, and the innovation really drew me to DPR.”

"Building basically go together the same way they did 40 years ago. The nuts and bolts are the same. What's different is the technology."

-Randy Shumaker, General Superintendent

People sit in Sayl chairs at a conference table while talking.

DPR’s innovative building methods have improved efficiencies in how the company plans and constructs highly complex structures built to rigorous standards for safety, technology, and sustainability. When the time came for DPR to move to a new office in Reston, Virginia, the DPR team was excited to create a workplace that would showcase their building expertise. The new facility would be a better reflection of the company’s empowering and collaborative culture­ and would encourage the inter-generational exchange of ideas that helps fuel DPR’s creative engines.

“Part of what we need to do is grow the younger generation so they understand the intricacies of a build,” says Shumaker. “They, in turn, share new ideas they’ve learned. This makes us a stronger team, which makes us a better company.”

Two people converse at a high-top table while another talks on a phone.

Opportunities for informal interactions abound throughout DPR’s new office. People from all parts of the company bump into one another when they take breaks in the Plaza.

Making Place for Innovation

Before moving to Reston, DPR was challenged with an office that was beginning to inhibit the person-to-person connection that’s essential to the company’s success. “For us, innovation is about collaboration—working together to come up with new ways to solve old problems,” says Chris Gorthy, a project executive with DPR. “When we started struggling to do that in our old office, we knew it was time for a change.”

Even though DPR’s current office allotted ample space for individual workstations, DPR employees described the space as “overbooked” and “isolating.” With no communal areas for socializing and a scarcity of conference rooms, many people chose to work at their jobsites instead of coming into the office.

As the DPR team sought a new work environment, Greg Haldeman, a member of DPR’s management committee, says they embraced the opportunity to create a more collaborative workplace that better reflects who they are and what they do. The project team identified several goals, including the following two: to create an office that would showcase their sustainable building expertise, and to design a living lab where they could test and measure workplace strategies that would encourage people to share knowledge and solve problems creatively.

To achieve the first goal, the DPR team decided to reuse a facility in Reston, Virginia. “We wanted to demonstrate that you could reuse a building and still achieve Net Zero Energy Building Certification, even in a building that’s 35 years old and in a challenging climate zone. It would be a first for the D.C. Metro area,” says Chris Hoffman, a project manager with DPR.  After building three other DPR offices that have been Net Zero certified, the team had a wealth of data and insight to inform the project. Sustainability, however, was only the beginning.

"Herman Miller helped us think about the verb versus the noun of each space—thinking about what people do and designing the environment around that."

-Chris Gorthy, Project Executive

A man sits at his desk inside of an enclosed office space with glass walls.

DPR wanted to create an office environment that set new standards for the future of workplace design. For help reaching this goal and translating the company’s progressive approach to construction into workplace design, DPR turned to Herman Miller and its research-based Living Office approach.

During DPR’s time at Herman Miller, specialists guided the team through the Living Office Discovery Process. This workshop gave DPR and its design partner, SmithGroupJJR, the tools they needed to identify and rally around the company’s purpose, character, and activities.

Gorthy was surprised to learn that this approach was about far more than furniture when he visited Herman Miller’s West Michigan headquarters. “I thought that the trip was going to be more about selling us on furniture, but what it did was sell us on placemaking and what the workplace could be,” he says. “Herman Miller helped us think about the verb versus the noun of each space—thinking about what people do and designing the environment around that.”

For DPR, the verb that came up most during the Discovery Process was collaborate. The mix of contractors, architects, engineers, and project managers working in the office and out in the field needed a variety of settings where they could easily connect and catch up on projects. To accommodate the nuances of these encounters, a handful of standard conference rooms simply wouldn’t do.

“The visit to Herman Miller helped DPR prioritize what they felt was important,” says Marc Schneiderman, design principal with SmithGroupJJR. “Seeing the furniture and settings throughout the office gave them visual clues about how their workplace could have a more flexible floorplan.”

Employees sit in Aeron chairs and listen to a presentation inside of a meeting room.

This flexible Forum Setting brings people from all parts of the company together with furnishings and tools that stimulate idea sharing.

Primed for Interaction

Through the Living Office Discovery Process, DPR and SmithGroupJJR gained new research-based insights into the team’s interactive style of workinginsights that helped the team determine the right balance of settings the company would need to be successful. From Meeting Spaces and Workshops for group activities to Hives and Havens for individual tasks, Living Office gave the design team a framework of 10 settings optimized for work and interaction. It also provided a means for evaluating how the workplace was performing after the team moved in.

“DPR didn’t just resuscitate a dilapidated building,” says Schneiderman. “They injected it with a new persona.” This sparkling new personality goes beyond attractive furniture, bright colors, and lush plants to a workplace with a serious purpose. Everything from the kitchen to the connective space to a variety of group settings is primed to sustain DPR’s collaborative culture.

“From a workplace standpoint, we’ve created lots of activity zones for people,” says Gorthy.  “We took an open office culture and combined it with a world-class space that allows people to connect.”

A graphic showing work activities supported before and after an office reconfiguring.

Very intentionally, the new office landscape presents opportunities for interactions of all types to happen. But the interactions that DPR values most are the ones you can’t predict.

“Herman Miller talked to us about how you can engineer impromptu conversations, which is something I never thought about,” says Jodi Paci, a business development manager at DPR. “If all you have is conference rooms and no places to chat, it’s not going to be as successful. The impromptu conversations don’t just happen. You need to have settings that encourage them.”

People sit at their computers inside of an open work space area.

The open, flexible layout of the new office makes it easy for people to take a time out from their individual tasks to chat, ask questions, or share ideas.

This impromptu interaction is something Paci observes first-hand as she gives tours to potential clients. She sees it in the spacious, light-filled Hive Setting, where people working side by side can easily connect with colleagues and ask questions.

it_cs_dpr_07.jpg
A graph showing employee's feelings towards informal work areas.

Beyond the main workspace, a long, open corridor lined with glass-walled Meetings Spaces, Workshops, and Havens gives people a choice of settings where they can review projects, brainstorm, have quiet conversations, or focus on individual tasks.  

“We had three conference rooms in the old building,” says Shumaker. “Here we have 10–12 different Meeting Spaces to choose from, and you can choose a room that suits the sort of interaction you want to have. If employees get stuck on a problem, they feel more comfortable using the new environment to start brainstorming and have conversations.”

Two people look at a computer screen while sitting in lounge area with natural light.

Contractors, site superintendents, and other employees who are frequently out in the field now have a variety of settings where they can meet and give each other project updates.

A graph displaying employee's feelings about work collaboration.

A wine bar serves as a Landing Setting just outside DPR’s large Forum, which doubles as a favorite spot for large corporate gatherings and a training room for employees. Here, people vacillate between meeting and socializing over drinks or snacks at the bar.

“Now we host national-level meetings, which we couldn’t facilitate in our previous office,” says Chris Gorthy. “We can bring in experts from around the company who interact with our employees. People are sharing stories and information, and that knowledge transfer is helping us connect the dots and solve problems.”

People stand and drink wine at a high-top table.

In the centrally located Plaza Setting, people enjoy the more social side of work. At ease with one another, people share their ideas and have the confidence to help others shape theirs.

The Results Are In

“What’s unique about DPR is that they have a very cohesive and collaborative culture,” says Schneiderman. “That wasn’t evident in the previous facility. The layout didn’t have a logic about how their daily sequence of activities happened. The new workplace is a paradigm shift for them. It flows with the way they work.”

Quantitative evidence from third party research proves that this shift is enhancing performance for both people and the organization. Herman Miller conducted a Leesman Survey for Workplace Effectiveness both before and after the move to the new office. Positive results place DPR in the top tier of high-performing companies for 2017.

A data graphic showing workplace effectiveness before and after.

Leesman is a global benchmarking service that gathers and analyzes data on workplace effectiveness from thousands of organizations. DPR’s excellent score earned them a Leesman+ accreditation—an achievement reached by only six percent of participating organizations—and put them in the top ten of Leesman’s high performers for 2017.

DPR is also measuring its workplace against standards from the International WELL Building Institute, which advances health and well-being in buildings globally. Among several other categories, DPR has excellent scores for design considerations that provide physical and mental comfort, including sit-to-stand desks and settings that offer quiet and privacy.

With WELL measuring the effectiveness of the facility and Leesman measuring employees’ enthusiastic response to it, Gorthy believes DPR’s workplace is helping their people carry out the organization’s purpose. “Our investment in this new environment was for our people, but it’s also allowing us to leverage our office to educate others. We can share what we’ve done here—how we’re showing respect for individuals and the environment—and make a broader impact on society.”

A man sits in a Swoop lounge chair while looking at his laptop.

By creating a workplace that cares for people’s physical and emotional needs, DPR built a showcase for the sustainable and health-positive building principles it promotes to clients.