如何创造一个能传达您品牌理念的办公室

Gensler案例研究

美国加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥

人们坐在楼梯旁边的高台桌前检查工作。

案例研究

2:56

Case Study: Gensler

See how Gensler transformed their office design into a powerful expression of their brand with Herman Miller.

登上写字楼顶层的豪华办公室,远眺圣地亚哥湾的美景,会给客户留下深刻的印象。但如果这意味着在那工作的人很难在创意项目上开展合作,其印象就未必完美了。十多年来,Gensler的员工分布在圣地亚哥市中心一栋办公大楼的顶层工作。“在那里工作最大的挑战是我们彼此之间变得非常疏远。”Gensler的负责人Scott Peterson表示:“员工天天来这里上班,但我们经常接连几天连他们人影都见不着。”

当办公大楼的第一层和第二层准备出租时,Gensler团队迎来了搬迁的时机。这是一次改造工作场所的良机,使其更好地适应团队所期望的互动型高效工作方式,传达公司致力于为客户创造变革性设计的决心,加强公司与当地社区的联系。

在团队寻找合作伙伴进行重新设计时,他们希望找到一家与他们一样坚持以人为本的设计,并坚信良好的设计可以改善生活的合作者。Peterson说:“Herman Miller关于工作和工作场所的想法与我们一致,这让合作变得很容易。”

一个男人和一个女人在高台桌前检查工作。

高桌便于即兴聊天和快速聚集以审查工作。

制作模型

Gensler团队希望新的空间可以激发创造力和解决问题的能力,尤其是当人们在办公室里随意走动,沟通交流时碰撞出的那种灵感。为了探索在Gensler工作场所中可以创造出什么样的临时团队和情境,设计团队制作了实体模型,根据公司鲜明大胆的美学理念定制了Herman Miller家具。

Gensler与Herman Miller的协作并不局限于各种装饰层面,他们还了解到不同类型的家具元素通过办公室的多种设置可以提高人们的舒适度和工作效率。Gensler团队因此充满信心,他们相信坐姿-站姿切换两用办公桌等新增家具既能满足人们的认知和身体需求,又符合快节奏设计公司的日常使用要求。

Gensler还认为Herman Miller是非常有价值的合作伙伴,可以帮助他们实现可持续发展计划。该团队希望获得LEED白金和WELL金级认证,也深知家具在该过程中发挥着重要作用。Herman Miller在可持续性方面的完整产品组合以及支持产品组合的深入研究工作和认证系统,帮助Gensler实现了可持续性发展的目标,并通过工作场所进一步宣扬其价值观。

一个女人坐在二楼的Eames躺椅上看书,另一个女人正拾阶而上。

令人眼前一亮的夹层楼里摆放着Eames休闲椅和脚凳,路过此处可将窗外熙熙攘攘的城市美景尽收眼底。这样的设置有助于加强Gensler与社区的联系。

让外界更了解我们

新办公室就像展示Gensler设计能力的一块活招牌,同时也很好地诠释了公司与圣地亚哥社区的文化联系。落地窗使在办公室里工作的员工成为一幕独特的街头风景。员工透过窗户欣赏外面阳光明媚、生机勃勃的世界,路人也得以目睹Gensler的设计作品。

“在一楼,街上的人们很容易看到我们,”Gensler设计技术人员Michelle Gallegos表示:“这吸引着社区里的人们,增加了询问度,了解我们是谁,我们的工作以及我们的目标。”

当客户和其他访客到来时,他们首先会进入明亮通风的大厅,然后通过宽敞的楼梯前往二楼。引人注目的设计元素——代表Gensler的超大字体的字母G,墙两侧摆放着进行中的设计工作,显示屏展示着已完工的产品——这一切都强化了品牌概念,诠释着Gensler令人印象深刻的设计产品组合。舒适的休闲座椅上丰富的装饰图案和成排的桌凳,仿佛在邀请人们坐下来相互交流。

人们在靠近窗户的大堂空间里工作和开会。

紧接正门、明亮通风的大厅是团队欢迎新客户的理想场所。落地窗使办公空间与充满活力的街道景观融为一体。像Gensler冲浪板这样充满个性风格的小物品,将圣地亚哥办公室的独特个性表现得淋漓尽致。

大厅以及紧邻主空间的会议室是Gensler团队引以为傲的接待客户的地方。他们经常邀请社区成员在这里开展筹款活动和假日聚会,与其分享这片他们引以为荣的空间。

大厅另一端挂满了员工照片和Gensler纪念品,您会发现同事们不时聚集在一起工作或在舒适的起居空间里聊天。中心宽敞的咖啡厅盛情邀请人们前来喝杯咖啡,员工还可在户外阳台上小聚,享受温暖的圣地亚哥阳光。

正在室外空间里开会的人们。

二楼边上的室外阳台是进行社交活动的最佳地点,在这里可享受圣地亚哥的宜人天气。

查找您关注的产品

为了给Gensler团队提供必要的空间来专注于个人任务,同时满足舒适的要求,Herman Miller为他们的工作区配备了坐姿-站姿切换两用办公桌。这些灵活的办公桌使员工能够方便地移动,以不同的姿势完成不同的任务。

“作为设计师,能够升起办公桌,随手搭起高高的桌面,这是一个翻天覆地的创举,”Gallegos说:“当有人走过来时,您可以勾勒出自己的想法并轻松与他们一起研究。”

“作为设计师,能够升起办公桌,随手搭起高高的桌面,这是一个翻天覆地的创举。当有人走过来时,您可以勾勒出自己的想法并轻松与他们一起研究。”

-Michelle Gallegos,设计技术人员

女人站在一张坐姿-站姿切换两用办公桌前,盯着眼前的两台电脑显示器。

站姿高度的桌子搭配相应的凳子还可以促进活动,让人们可以更方便地安置下来工作几个小时,或者与同事共同讨论计划。除了这些灵活的公共办公空间,公司还设有一系列安静、封闭的房间,供员工召开工作会议或接听私人电话。

有了这些新设置,员工们每天上班时似乎变得更快乐了。“这就像呼吸新鲜空气,”管理人员Ashley Carman说:“在这里可以绝对放松,不必担心去哪里找地方开会,也无需为了找个工作或合作的空间而发愁。”

一个男人和一个女人在轻松随意的休闲空间里见面。

布置舒适的起居室便于开展非正式交流。

践行价值观

新办公室是Gensler与客户分享其设计理念的一种非常有效的方式。Gallegos说:“客户来这里后,亲自感受这些空间,亲眼看到我们对他们的承诺,就会说,‘我了解您为我们做的工作了,我同意您的设计。我明白了它的重要性。我喜欢这种环境。我看到了联系、社交和协作。我看到了坐姿-站姿切换两用办公桌,以及它们如何促进健康的生活方式。’”

“当您考虑所有因素时,无论是研究、产品质量、公司历史,还是我们双方对工作环境的看法,这些都构成了我们办公室所需的完美变革。”

-Scott Peterson,负责人

坐在柜台前的男人和女人正在与对面厨房里的女人闲聊。

最后,Herman Miller帮助Gensler实现了所有目标。Peterson说:“当您考虑所有因素时,无论是研究、产品质量、公司历史,还是我们双方对工作环境的看法,这些都构成了我们办公室所需的完美变革。”

其结果就是这个工作场所生动展现了Gensler的价值观,改善了员工彼此之间以及与社区的互动方式。

How to Create an Office that Expresses Your Brand

Gensler Case Study

San Diego, California, US

Download PDF  (1.2 MB)

People sitting and reviewing work at a high top table by stairs.

Case Studies

2:56

Case Study: Gensler

See how Gensler transformed their office design into a powerful expression of their brand with Herman Miller.

A penthouse office with views of San Diego Bay can be impressive to clients. But not if that means the people who work there have difficulty working together on creative projects. For more than a decade, Gensler’s employees were dispersed across the top floors of an office tower in downtown San Diego. “The challenge with being up there was that we were very disconnected from each other,” says Scott Peterson, a principal at Gensler. “People would come into work, and we wouldn’t see them at all for days on end.”

When the first and second floors of the office tower became available for lease, the Gensler team welcomed the opportunity to relocate. It was a chance to make workplace changes that would better suit the highly interactive way the team wanted to work, broadcast the firm’s dedication to creating transformative designs for their clients, and strengthen their ties to the local community.

As the team searched for partners for the redesign, they wanted a collaborator that shared their passion for human-centered design and a core belief that good design can improve lives. “Herman Miller’s ideas on work and the workplace made it easy for us to work together,” says Peterson.

A man and a woman reviewing work at a hightop table.

High-top tables encourage impromptu chats and quick huddles to review work.

Mock It Up

The Gensler team wanted the new space to encourage creativity and problem solving—especially the kind that happens when people spontaneously bump into one another as they move about the office. To explore possibilities for what casual group settings could look like in Gensler’s workplace, the design team created mock-ups that tailored Herman Miller’s furnishing to the firm’s distinctively bold aesthetic.

Beyond decorative decisions, getting hands-on with Herman Miller helped Gensler see how different types of furniture elements could enhance people’s comfort and performance in various settings across the office. It gave the Gensler team confidence that new additions, like sit-to-stand desks, would meet people’s cognitive and physical needs while also standing up to the demands of daily use in a fast-paced design firm.

Gensler also viewed Herman Miller as a valuable partner that could contribute to its sustainability initiatives. The team wanted to achieve LEED Platinum and WELL Gold certifications and knew that furniture plays and important role in that process. Herman Miller’s robust portfolio of sustainable options—along with the research and certifications to back them up—helped Gensler achieve their sustainability goals and further express their values through the workplace.

A woman is reading and sitting in a Eames Lounge Chair on the second floor while another woman is walking up the stairs.

This stunning mezzanine, featuring an Eames Lounge Chair and Ottoman, gives all that pass through a view to the bustling city outside. Settings such as this help strengthen Gensler’s ties with the community.

Bring the Outside In

The new office serves as a compelling billboard for Gensler’s design capabilities, as well as their cultural connection to the San Diego community. Floor-to-ceiling windows put people working in the office at street view. This gives employees a vista to the sunny, vibrant world outside and offers passersby a view of the type of design work Gensler does.

“Being on the ground floor, we’re more visible to people on the street,” said Michelle Gallegos, a Design Tech at Gensler. “It’s an opportunity for the community to stop by, ask us questions, and engage with who we are, what do we do, and what our purpose is.”

When clients and other visitors enter the space, they are greeted by a bright, airy lobby anchored by a sizeable staircase to the second floor. Compelling design elements—an oversized Gensler G, design works-in-progress flanking the walls, a digital display showcasing completed products—reinforce their brand and tell a story about Gensler’s impressive design portfolio. Vignettes of comfy lounge seating and long rows of tables with stools invite people to sit and socialize.

People working and meeting in a lobby space next to windows.

A bright, airy lobby just off the main entrance is a perfect place for the team to welcome new clients. Floor-to-ceiling windows connect the space to the vibrant streetscape. Personal touches like the Gensler surfboard help bring the San Diego office’s unique personality to life.

The lobby—along with a conference room just off the main space—is a place where the Gensler team is proud to host clients. They are so proud of the space, in fact, that they often invite members of the community to use it for fundraisers and holiday events.

In another part of the lobby, you’ll frequently find colleagues working together or chatting in a cozy living room space, surrounded by staff photos and Gensler memorabilia. A spacious, centralized café invites people to catch up over a cup of coffee, while an outdoor veranda allows people to enjoy each other’s company and the warm San Diego sun.

People meeting in an outdoor space.

An outdoor veranda off the second floor is a favorite spot for socializing while enjoying the fine San Diego weather.

Find Your Focus

To give the Gensler team the necessary space to focus on individual tasks—and to do so comfortably—Herman Miller outfitted their work areas with sit-to-stand desks. These keep people moving during the day as they easily transition between postures and tasks.

“As a designer, the ability to lift your desk up and have a high-top table right there at your fingertips is a game changer,” says Gallegos. “When someone comes over, you can sketch out ideas and comfortably look at them together.”

“As a designer, the ability to lift your desk up and have a high-top table right there at your fingertips is a game changer. When someone comes over, you can sketch out ideas and comfortably look at them together.”

-Michelle Gallegos, Design Tech

Woman standing at a sit-to-stand desk, looking at two computer monitors.

Standing-height tables with stools also promote movement and make it easier for people to touch down and work for a few hours or put their heads together with colleagues to review plans. These flexible public workspaces are supplemented by a series of quiet, enclosed rooms that people can occupy for work sessions or private phone calls.

With access to a variety of new settings, people seem happier when they come to work each day. “It’s like a breath of fresh air,” says administrator Ashley Carman. “It was an absolute relief to not be so concerned about where certain meetings were going to be or if there was a room to work or collaborate.”

A man and a woman meeting in a casual lounge space.

A comfortably appointed living room invites casual conversation.

Live Your Values

The new office has been an incredibly effective way for Gensler to share their philosophy of design with their clients. Says Gallegos, “Clients can come here, use the space, see what we are professing to them firsthand, say, ‘I understand what it is that you are trying to do for us, and I accept it. I see why this is so important. I like this environment. I see the connectivity, the socialization, the collaboration. I see the sit-stand desks and how they are facilitating a healthy lifestyle.”

“When you factor in everything—the research, the quality of the product, the history of the organization, how we both view the work environment—it just all added up to the perfect storm of what we needed for our office.”

-Scott Peterson, Principal

A man and a woman sitting at a counter socializing with a woman across from them in a kitchen.

In the end, Herman Miller helped Gensler accomplish all their goals. “When you factor in everything—the research, the quality of the product, the history of the organization, how we both view the work environment—it just all added up to the perfect storm of what we needed for our office,” says Peterson.

The result is a workplace that brings Gensler’s values to life and elevates the way the people interact both with each other and their community.