设计者: George Nelson

Nelson坐卧两用沙发

45度角视图:布置成沙发的浅灰色Nelson坐卧两用沙发。

简洁而宁静

45度角视图:布置成沙发的浅灰色Nelson坐卧两用沙发。

Nelson坐卧两用沙发

Nelson坐卧两用沙发造型时尚经典,功能齐全,能轻松融入包括卧室、客厅、办公室或婴儿房在内的各种空间。利用可拆卸的靠枕或侧面垫枕,可以方便地将它从沙发变成床,无论是打算休息片刻还是睡一整晚,都能高枕无忧。

产品最初是由George Nelson于1950年设计的,重制款保留了初始产品的规格和考究的细节,比如木架上的斜边和靠垫上如焊缝般的圆形滚边,这些颇具特色的细节设计,让人一眼就能分辨出正品与仿品的区别。不锈钢发夹式桌腿或锥形木腿保留了经典的Nelson风格。在保留产品轻盈美感的同时,采用双层泡沫衬垫起到更好的缓冲作用,也能提供更好的支撑,更加经久耐用。随着现代家庭或公寓面积的缩小,像Nelson坐卧两用沙发这样的多功能家具,无论放在任何房间都显得既典雅又实用。

设计回顾

George Nelson是美国中世纪现代主义风格最具影响力的设计师之一,他于1945年加入Herman Miller,自此担任设计总监超过25年。在此期间,他精心策划了专为现代生活而设计的全套产品,即后来为人熟知的Herman Miller经典系列。

复古黑白照片:办公大厅里的两张布置成沙发的Nelson坐卧两用沙发。
复古黑白照片:两张Nelson坐卧两用沙发,一张布置成床,另一张布置成休闲椅。

不断演变的需求

1941年,Nelson为自己设计了坐卧两用沙发的早期版本,之后在初始设计的基础上进行完善,并于1950年上市。Nelson主张,当人类行为发生改变的同时,设计也必须与时俱进。在他理想的室内空间内,家具设计必须与空间整体息息相关。Nelson坐卧两用沙发正是这一理念的典型例子,无论其造型和用途均有其固有灵活性。就像一则历史广告中所说的,Nelson坐卧两用沙发“如果卧室还要兼做起居室,这款产品就是您的理想之选”。

“在运动的时代,我们发现飞机确定了风格。”

深入了解George Nelson

产品设计师George Nelson

Designed by George Nelson

Nelson Daybed

Nelson Daybed

Simplicity and serenity

Nelson Daybed

Nelson Daybed

Sleek, versatile, and timeless, the Nelson Daybed fits effortlessly into a myriad of settings—including the bedroom, living room, office, or nursery. With removable back or side bolsters, it easily transitions from a sofa to a bed for a momentary respite or a full night’s rest.

Originally designed in 1950 by George Nelson, its reissue retains original specifications and crafted details like the beveled edges of the wood platform and rounded welt-cord piping of the cushions, a feature that distinguishes the original from imitations. Stainless steel hairpin legs or the tapered wood legs give it the classic Nelson touch. The cushioning is enhanced with dual-density foam for more support and durability while maintaining its lightweight aesthetic. As homes and apartments shrink in size, multipurpose furniture like the Nelson Daybed add a practical and sophisticated presence to any room.

Design Story

One of the most influential designers of mid-century modernism in America, George Nelson joined Herman Miller in 1945 and served as director of design for over 25 years. During this time he curated what became known as the Herman Miller Collection, a comprehensive set of products designed for modern living.

Nelson Daybed
Nelson Daybed

Evolving needs

Nelson designed an early version of the Daybed for his own use in 1941, then refined the original design and launched it in 1950. Nelson advocated that design should evolve as human behavior changed. In his ideal interior space, furniture was designed to be in relation to the whole. With flexibility inherent in its form and use, the Nelson Daybed exemplifies this philosophy. As an archival advertisement points out, the Nelson Daybed is “ideal for the bedroom that has to double as a sitting room.”

“In an era of movement, we find that planes set the style.”

More about George Nelson

Designer George Nelson