创新理念,经典设计

1944年,《生活》杂志发表了大量文章,详细介绍了存储墙柜(Storage Wall),详述了George Nelson为美国房屋建设提出的新颖的建筑理念,他建议将墙壁再做厚一些,从而空间能够加倍,便于存放东西。

20世纪50年代的老式照片展示了Nelson Thin Edge胸部和内阁组合的早期例子。

这一作品吸引了Herman Miller公司创始人D.J.De Pree的注意,此时,他正在寻找一位设计总监来接替突然辞世的Gilbert Rohde,Nelson很快就获得了这份工作。他在Herman Miller担任设计总监25年有余。在此期间,他检查人们在家庭和办公室里遇到的各种问题,然后设计各种新型的家具来解决这些需求。

从储物墙到橱柜系列

储物墙的概念推动了Nelson在这些年间设计出一系列橱柜产品。1952年的红木柜子组合(Rosewood Cabinet Series)代表了Nelson在制作模块化储存家具时高度关注优异的质量与精湛工艺。由于胶合板的应用范围不断扩大,设计细节也有了规范标准,1958年再次对这一组合产品重新命名,这次重新命名的依据是赋予它们独特的审美品质的特征——构成门扇和抽屉的纤薄边框。而今我们在保留初始设计的基础上,用支持环保的胶合板和饰面工艺对这些经典的作品进行了更新换代。

纽约客1957年的一张广告,展示George Nelson设计的Rosewood Cabinet 系列的胸部。

适合的家具

深入了解George Nelson

产品设计师George Nelson

An innovative idea, a timeless design

In 1944, Life magazine published an extensive article detailing the Storage Wall, George Nelson’s novel architectural concept for American homes that proposed to make walls thicker so that they could double as a place to put things away.

A vintage photo from the 1950s showing an early example of a Nelson Thin Edge chest and cabinet combination.

The piece caught the eye of Herman Miller founder D.J. De Pree, who was searching for a design director after the sudden death of Gilbert Rohde, and Nelson soon had the job. He went on to work as Design Director at Herman Miller for over 25 years. During this time he examined the problems people faced in their homes and offices and designed new types of furniture to address those needs.

From storage wall to cabinet series

The Storage Wall concept was the forerunner to a series of cabinets that Nelson designed over the years. The Rosewood Cabinet Series of 1952 represents a synthesis of Nelson’s approach to modular storage furniture with a heightened attention to quality and craftsmanship. As the range of veneers expanded and design details were standardized, the group was renamed in 1958 after the feature that gives them their unique aesthetic quality—the thin edge that frames the doors and drawers. Today, we have updated these classic pieces with environmentally supportable veneers and finishing processes while maintaining the original design.

A 1957 ad from The New Yorker showing a chest from the Rosewood Cabinet Series, designed by George Nelson.

Furniture that fits

More about George Nelson

Designer George Nelson