优美的曲线

George Nelson 的设计从桌腿开始,坚持用金属制作,以机器成型,进行预加工,并且要美丽动人。他喜欢优雅的曲线。他同时希望产品对消费者来说便于装卸,因此,办公桌和桌子都能通过拆卸降低成本。

塑模(运用压力使金属管变细并弯曲)被证明是制作桌腿最好的方法,这种金属管为 16 号钢,有可调整的滑轮。为了让办公桌和桌子的底座平稳、坚固,Nelson 增加了一个核桃木架子拴住桌腿。

一旦开始设计,Nelson关注的就不仅仅是办公桌。他设计出一张办公桌,让使用者摆放各种文件和工具。他还设计出两张餐桌(一圆一方),并设计出了 X 形的核桃木底座撑架,以此为桌腿腾出空间。说到底,整个设计都是以桌腿为中心。

“全面的设计或多或少就是把每件事都相互关联起来。”

深入了解George Nelson

产品设计师George Nelson

A graceful curve

George Nelson began with the legs, insisting that they be made of metal, machine formed, and prefinished. And beautiful. He wanted that graceful curve. He also wanted them to be easy for the consumer to assemble, so the desk and tables could be shipped knocked down to save on costs.

Swaging—using pressure to taper and curve a metal tube—proved to be the best way to produce the legs, which are 16-gauge steel and have adjustable glides. Nelson added solid walnut stretchers that bolt to the legs for a stable, durable base common to the desk and tables.

Once he got started, Nelson didn't stop at desks. He made a work table that lets you spread out papers and tools. He made two dining tables—one round, one rectangular—with the walnut base stretchers in an X formation to make room for your legs. It's all about the legs.

“Total design is nothing more or less than a process of relating everything to everything.”

More about George Nelson

Designer George Nelson