办公室设计是否有助于社区建设?

Tavistock Development Company案例研究


Orlando, Florida, US

Download PDF  (2.1 MB)

人们在Tavistock 开发公司的广场吃午餐。空间配备了红色的Eames Shell椅子。选择播放案例研究视频。

案例研究

2:49

案例研究:Tavistock Development Company

Tavistock Development Company与Herman Miller合作创造的办公室能够加强其员工的集体归属感。

在Tavistock Development Company,员工不会在桌子上吃午餐。如果他们可以在房地产开发公司明亮宽敞、窗口成排的咖啡馆享用午餐,他们为什么要在办工桌上吃饭呢?在佛罗里达的蓝天和挺拔的棕榈树背景下,会计师与项目经理低声交流,行政助理和法律顾问相视而笑,市场营销专家和城镇规划师深入交流。平时在工作日很少聚在一起的人们可以很好地了解对方在干些什么,并且,他们享受着其中的乐趣。

然而,之前的情况并非这样。在Tavistock总裁Jim Zboril和他的团队做出决定将三个不同的办公室合并到一个位置之前,员工几乎不可能聚集在一起进行任何社交活动,包括午餐。Tavistock的人力资源总监Karen Duerr回忆,他曾经尝试在一年中最热的日子聚集大家在一个会议室中吃冰棒,但是结果并不如人意。“感觉非常奇怪,”她说道,“50多号人挤进原本设计用于5个人的房间内。”

Tavistock分散并且过小的办公室也没有足够的空间让员工有效做好他们的工作,包括合作和独立的工作。除了几个看起来一模一样的会议室、一个“偏远”的休息室以及一个没有足够私密性来进行机密讨论的大厅之外,员工没有任何地方来就他们的社区开发项目展开合作。

“我的执行团队和我曾在每个会议室都呆过,”Zboril说道,“虽然我们最终把所有工作都做完了,但是,我们其实无法使用协作空间。”员工不得不将很重要会议安排在公司之外,而这种做法严重影响了效率和预算。

在Zboril看来,这些说明存在远超低效率和不方便范畴的问题。作为可为客户建造充满灵感和支持氛围社区的公司,如果Tavistock希望维持其声誉,它就应该为它的员工也做到这一点。

Zboril和他的领导团队知道,他们需要将大伙聚集到一个地方;并且,他们位于诺娜湖的开发项目将成为繁华的城镇中心,也是一个理想的地点。下一步,即规划一个可帮助员工更频繁地进行相互互动的工作场所,并非易事。Tavistock邀请Herman Miller和奥兰多的Little Diversified Architectural Consulting (Little)来帮忙。

 “我们访问Herman Miller位于西密歇根的总部时,让我们马上深受启发的一个元素就是他们的能量。”Zboril说,“在一个沉闷的冬季日子走进这个空间,它依然充满活力,明亮宽敞,并且,这种活力似乎可以传染。这是我们需要带回到我们办公室的一种氛围。我们开始了解他们所拥有的其他不同空间类型,并且思考我们如何能够在佛罗里达创造这些空间,以满足我们自己的需求。”

Zboril回忆看到的空间称为环境设置——只是Herman Miller用于创建可供员工和组织茁壮成长工作场所的Living Office方法的一部分。Living Office可为各大组织提供一个框架,以基于员工的需求和日常工作活动创建各种环境设置。通过装备一系列定制的装饰和工具,这些设置可释放员工的潜能,让他们在工作中更具创意、更好协作并且拥有更高的参与度。

创建引力中心

阅读文章

发展中的Living Office

Herman Miller邀请Tavistock参加了一个研究项目,以调查Tavistock的工作场所在实施其Living Office之前、过程中和之后的效率。这种基于调查研究的方法与Tavistock使用数据来为社区开发项目提供资讯的做法一致。

作为调查的一部分,Herman Miller指导员工和领导完成Living Office Discovery Process研讨会。这个研讨会可帮助各大组织识别他们的目标、业务优先事项、特性和活动。

通过确定他们希望新的工作场所帮助他们实现的各个关键组织目标,公司领导启动了该流程。其中包括在员工中打造更强烈的社区感觉,提高效率和吸引并留住一流人才。

人们聚在一起看墙上的图表。

在Living Office Discovery Process过程中,Tavistock的员工指出了他们当前工作场所支持和不支持的工作活动。

三个人坐在带躺椅和沙发的休息区。

在他们新的工作场所,Tavistock的员工可拥有一系列环境设置选择,包括Cove设置,他们可在这个环境中交谈,社交或合作解决问题。

对于Tavistock来说,下一步是识别他们日常工作活动与他们工作场所之间的不一致问题。一组员工研究了一个包括10项常见工作的活动清单,确定哪些项目对他们的工作至关重要,并且为这些活动描述最具支持性的环境设置。

为了补充这方面的工作,Herman Miller的研究人员对公司领导和员工进行了工作场所有效性调查,观察员工的行为,并且与员工密切合作,以了解之前的空间所支持和不支持的元素。

这个调查研究的结果证明,新的空间需要支持Tavistock员工每天所进行的高协作性质活动。其中包括漫长的交谈、更长时间的协作项目开发工作、以及快速、即兴的讨论,这些活动用Living Office的术语来描述,即Converse(交谈)、Co create(联合创作)、Divide & Conquer(逐个击破)和Chat(聊天)。

“我们已经知道,我们之前曾在三个不同的建筑中,因此,我们无法像预期那样进行交流与协作,”人力资源总监Karen Duerr说道,“该调查研究强调了这些互动类型对我们工作的重要性。”

正在建造的环境设置

“Herman Miller向我们介绍了这个概念,即提供替代的工作方式,”Tavistock开发副总裁Ralph Ireland表示,“例如,在我们旧的办公室,我可以选择在我的独立办公室或会议室工作。现在,我可以有10到12种选择。这个环境可允许人们在特定时间点选择他们所喜欢的工作方式。”

显示新家具前后办公室设置数量的图表。

Tavistock的Living Office共有8种环境设置,每种都经过精心设计,以支持不同类型的个人和团队工作。其中的一个环境设置是一个Workshop(工作坊),Tavistock员工称之为“头脑风暴室”。该空间足够大,可供整个施工队伍集中开会并就项目展开讨论。并且,通过一系列专门设计用于提升协作创新工作的家具,员工可以细分成为更小的团队,以完成特定的任务(一种称为“Divide & Conquer”的Living Office活动)。

在Workshop中,员工可挤在一个长长的、站立工作高度桌面上审查新开发项目的平面图。大型显示器安装在侧面,可允许员工以电子方式审查项目,并且实时作出改动。并且,如果员工需要打电话,他们可以走到附近的一组休闲椅上去。

“头脑风暴室里有所需要的一切工具,”Tavistock的项目管理员Cristyann Courtney表示,“这里有白板空间,对我们尝试思考具体流程非常有用。我们还有很多显示器,并且,得益于空间布局方式,每个人都可以清楚看到所展示的内容。这样可为我们提供非常好的机会,让我们可以实时进行合作,并且变得更加高效。”

人们在Setu椅子和休息室座位上开放式办公环境中工作和交谈。

在这个Workshop环境设置中,员工可同时处理一个项目的不同部分——将创意草案写在白板上,在站立工作高度的桌子上审查施工平面图,然后从小组中抽身出来进行私密交谈。

 

除了Workshop之外,该办公室还提供各种空间供员工们进行合作。如果在工作站中进行的简短交谈变成了更长时间的讨论,员工可移动到Cove Settings环境,这些半封闭的空间可提供私密性,同时也具有分享想法所需的空间。Tavistock的某些Cove配备有舒适的休闲椅,以进行随意交谈。其他的则配备站立工作高度的桌面和大型显示屏,以分享正在进行中的工作。在这些环境设置中,员工可就他们的工作进行长时间交谈,并且不会导致其他人分心。

显示翻修前后支持的工作活动量的图形。

位于中间的咖啡吧(也称为Plaza(广场)设置)可提供替代的场所,以供员工聚集到一起针对从开发平计划到周末计划等任何事情进行交谈。在Plaza中,社交与完成工作相结合——各种活动,包括欢乐聚会时光、庆祝新合约的小派对以及每月举行一次的带有Tavistock主题的各种小活动或服装比赛等。

“在搬迁之后,我向员工询问了一系列问题,关于给他们带来最大变化的新HR政策,”人力资源和内部运营副总裁Debbie DeMars说道,“清单上的项目包括额外的带薪休假和灵活的工作时间。但是,员工们说,带来最大变化的是咖啡吧和我们在那里举行的集会。这些活动充满乐趣,而员工对此感到自豪。并且,这是我们告诉大家公司具体事务发展的方式。”

个人空间计划

为了帮助员工感到足够舒适,“将办公室当作他们自己的家”,Zboril和团队与Herman Miller和建筑与设计公司Little密切合作,以确保办公室适当平衡各种环境设置,让员工能够相互合作,但是也可以抽身出来集中精力进行各种任务,例如阅读长篇机密文件或起草一份提案。

在新办公室,如果员工需要从主办公室的集体活动中抽身,他们可以在全封闭的Haven设置中进行放松。在这里,员工可以花几个小时在笔记本上工作,打电话或考虑某个复杂的问题。

员工的工作站也配备得可帮助员工长时间专注于工作,然后,当同事过来问问题的时候,也可以快速适应过来。Renew Sit-to-Stand办公桌、Flo显示器支架和Embody座椅具有极佳的人体工学组合,可确保员工在整个工作日期间保持更活跃的状态,并且提供相应的灵活性,让他们能够将技术设备摆放在舒适可见的位置。

“我每天经常都会将我的桌面上下移动,”项目管理员Christyann Courtney说道。“如果我需要非常专注,我就坐下。但是,如果有人来到我的办公桌边,我会立即升起桌面,这样我们就可以并排站着。这样看起来就像一种更加自然的沟通方式。”

两个人在站在桌子上看着一台显示器时说话。

诸如坐-站转换办公桌等人体工学设计考量可鼓励在坐和站之间进行有益健康的转换,并且在专注工作和协同工作之间进行切换。

成功之路

诸如人体工学工作站和更多元化、开放的办公室环境等空间正在帮助员工保持更好的联系,并且以更有效的方式完成工作,同时也确保Tavistock实现其关键的企业目标,例如提高效率。

对于高级常务董事Rashesh Thakkar来说,诸如此类的结果是备受欢迎的惊喜。“最初,我对于更开放的办公室这个概念并不买账,”Thakkar表示,“但是,我可以看到,新空间中的灵活性确实令人感到充满活力。员工看起来更具灵性且开心。所有这些都可有效提高生产效率。”

数据显示新办公室设置后员工的工作效率。

新办公室另一个激励因素已大幅提高了公司的吸引力,并且留住了充满才华的员工。“在搬迁之前的几年里,我们的流动率是26%,”DeMars说道,“现在,我们今年的流动率为10%。”

办公室员工坐在Eames椅子上,并在桌旁交谈。

从用餐到庆祝再到会议,Tavistock的员工都能够在咖啡吧进行各种社交活动。搬迁后的调查表明,这种多功能环境设置是员工喜欢新工作场所的主要原因之一。

DeMars将人才保留率的显著提升归功于“无形的因素”。“这并非仅关乎薪水,也并非仅关于休假,”DeMars表示,“而是关于你来上班时候的良好感觉。这是一种自豪感和社区感。”

单独的图表显示新装修前后的员工情绪。
比较Tavistock员工如何感受他们工作场所的条形图反映了采用Living Office之前和之后的企业形象。

所有这些改变累积起来,推动Tavistock整体工作场所效率和员工满意度实现了巨大的提升。为了对这种提升进行量化测量,Herman Miller引导领导层和员工进行了一次Leesman调查。Tavistock前办公场所的Leesman指数仅获得差强人意的48.7分(总分100分),其新的总部获得了85.5分——几乎比Leesman全球基准的60.7分高出了差不多25分。这种优秀的评级让Tavistock获得了Leesman+认证。

对于Tavistock总裁Jim Zboril来说,这意味着,他和他的团队已成功完成了他们的任务——创建更好反映公司价值观的工作场所。“这个办公室证明了我们践行我们在社区开发项目中所宣传的原则,”Zboril表示,“这个办公室设计以人为本,并且,当你来到这里,你就会感觉得到。我认为,这真的非常强大。”

Tavistock Development Company

With Living Office, this real estate development firm created a unified workplace that’s just as vibrant as the communities it builds for clients.


Orlando, Florida, US

Download PDF  (2.1 MB)

At Tavistock Development Company, people don’t eat lunch at their desks. Why would they, when they can enjoy a meal in the real estate development firm’s bright, window-lined café. Against a backdrop of palm trees lazing in a blue Florida sky, accountants mingle with project managers, administrative assistants laugh with legal counsel, and marketing specialists catch up with urban planners. People who wouldn’t normally spend a lot of time together during the workday are getting a glimpse of what others are working on, and they are having fun doing it.

It wasn’t always this way. Before Tavistock’s president, Jim Zboril, and his team made the decision to consolidate three disparate offices into one location, it was nearly impossible for people to get together for any sort of occasion, lunch included. Tavistock’s Human Resources Director, Karen Duerr, recalls a failed attempt to gather everyone in a conference room for popsicles on one of the hottest days of the year. “It was so awkward,” she says. “There were 50 people squished into a room designed for about five.”

Tavistock’s dispersed and undersized offices also lacked enough space for people to effectively do their work, both together and alone. Aside from a handful of look-a-like conference rooms, an out-of-the-way breakroom, and a lobby that didn’t afford enough privacy for confidential discussions, employees had nowhere to work together on their community development projects.

“My executive team and I hogged all the conference rooms,” says Zboril. “The people that were actually getting all the work done didn’t have access to collaborative spaces.” Employees were scheduling important meetings offsite, a practice that was becoming a drain on both efficiency and the budget.

In Zboril’s opinion, these challenges signaled a problem that went far deeper than inefficiencies and inconveniences. If Tavistock wanted to maintain its reputation as a company that builds inspiring and supportive communities for clients, it would need to do the same for its employees.

Zboril and his leadership team knew they needed to get everyone together in one place, and the soon-to-be bustling Town Center at their marquee development project, Lake Nona, was the ideal spot. The next step—planning a workplace that would help employees interact with one another more—wasn’t so simple. Tavistock enlisted Herman Miller and Orlando-based Little Diversified Architectural Consulting (Little) to help.

 “When we visited Herman Miller’s headquarters in West Michigan, one of the things that inspired us immediately was the energy,” says Zboril. “Walking into the space on a dreary winter day, it was alive, bright, and there was a vibe that was infectious. That’s something we needed to bring back to our environment. We started looking at the different types of spaces they had, and thinking about how we could create them for our own needs in Florida.”

The spaces Zboril recalls seeing are called settings—just one part of Herman Miller’s Living Office approach to creating workplaces where both people and organizations can prosper. Living Office provides organizations with a framework for creating settings based on people’s needs and daily work activities. Outfitted with a custom mix of furnishings and tools, these settings can unleash people’s potential to be more creative, collaborative, and engaged in their work.

Living Office in Development

Herman Miller invited Tavistock to participate in a research project to study the effectiveness of Tavistock’s workplace before, during, and after the implementation of its Living Office. This research-based approach aligned with Tavistock’s own practice of using data to inform community development projects.

As part of the research, Herman Miller guided employees and leaders through the Living Office Discovery Process. This workshop helps organizations identify their purpose, business priorities, character, and activities.

Company leaders kicked off the process by pinpointing organizational goals that they hoped the new workplace would help them advance. These included building a stronger sense of community among employees, increasing efficiency, and attracting and retaining top talent.

Tavistock Development Company Case Study

During the Living Office Discovery Process, Tavistock employees identified work activities that were supported and unsupported by their current workplace.

Tavistock Development Company Case Study

In their new workplace, Tavistock employees have a choice of settings—including this Cove Setting—where they can have conversations, socialize, or work together to solve problems.

For Tavistock, the next step was identifying disparities between their daily work activities and their workplace. A group of employees studied a list of 10 common work activities, identified the ones that were most critical to their jobs, and mapped those activities to the settings that would best support them.

To supplement these efforts, Herman Miller researchers conducted workplace effectiveness surveys with company leaders and employees, observed people’s behaviors, and worked with employees to photograph elements of the space that were and were not supportive.

The results of this research proved that the new space would need to enable the highly collaborative activities Tavistock employees do throughout the day. These include lengthy conversations, longer periods of collaborative project development work, and quick, impromptu discussions—activities known as Converse, Co-Create, Divide & Conquer, and Chat in Living Office parlance.

“We already knew that we were in three different buildings, so we weren’t colliding and collaborating like we should be,” says Human Resources Director Karen Duerr. “The research reinforced how important these types of interactions are to our work.”

Settings Under Construction

“Herman Miller introduced us to this notion of providing for alternative ways of working,” says Ralph Ireland, Vice President of Development for Tavistock. “For instance, in our old office, I had the option of either working in my enclosed office or in a conference room. Now I’ve got probably 10 or 12 options. This is an environment that allows one to work the way they want to work at a particular point in time.”

Tavistock Development Company Case Study

Each of the eight types of settings in Tavistock’s Living Office is intentionally designed to support different types of individual and group work. One of these settings is a Workshop—what Tavistock employees call “the brainstorming room.” The space is large enough for the entire construction team to gather and discuss a project. And with a mix of furnishings designed to enhance collaborative creative work, people can then break off into smaller teams to complete specific tasks (a Living Office Activity called Divide & Conquer).

In the Workshop, people huddle around a long, standing-height work surface reviewing plans for new development projects. Large monitors flank the perimeter, allowing people to review projects digitally and make changes in real time. And if someone needs to take a phone call, they can relocate to a nearby grouping of lounge chairs.

“The brainstorming room is everything in one place,” says Cristyann Courtney, a Project Administrator at Tavistock. “You have whiteboard space, which is helpful as we are trying to think through the flow of a process. We also have plenty of monitors, and because of the way the space is laid out, everybody has a clear view of everything that’s being presented. This gives us a great opportunity to work through things live and be more efficient.”

Tavistock Development Company Case Study

In this Workshop Setting, employees work simultaneously on various parts of a project—sketching ideas on a whiteboard, reviewing construction plans at a standing-height table, and breaking away from the group to have private conversations.

 

In addition to the Workshop, the office provides numerous places where people can work together. When a quick chat at the workstation becomes a longer discussion, people can move to Cove Settings, semi-enclosed spaces that provide the privacy and space required for sharing ideas. Some of Tavistock’s Coves are outfitted with comfortable lounge seating to support casual conversations. Others feature standing-height work surfaces and large monitors for sharing work in progress. In these settings, people can have lengthy conversations about their work without distracting others nearby.

Tavistock Development Company Case Study

The centrally located café (also known as a Plaza Setting) provides an alternative place for people to gather for conversations about anything from development plans to plans for the weekend. In the Plaza, socializing converges with getting work done—activities that happen at happy hour gatherings, pop-up parties to celebrate new deals, and once-a-month celebrations with Tavistock-themed trivia or costume contests.

“After the move, I asked employees a series of questions about new HR policies that were making the most difference to them,” says Debbie DeMars, Vice President, Human Resources and Internal Operations. “There were things on the list like additional days for paid time off and flexible work hours. But the thing that people said made the most difference was the café and the gatherings we have there. It’s fun, and people are proud of it. And it’s a way for us to tell people what’s going on in the company.”

A Plan for Personal Space

To help employees feel comfortable enough to “make the space their own,” Zboril and team worked with Herman Miller and architecture and design firm Little to ensure the office had the right balance of settings where people could work together but also break away to focus on tasks such as reading a long, confidential document or drafting a proposal.

In the new office, when people need to retreat from the hum of activity in the main workspace, they can seek respite in fully enclosed Haven Settings. Here one can spend a few hours working on a laptop, talking on the phone, or thinking through a complicated problem.

The employees’ workstations are also outfitted to help people focus on their work for long periods of time, and then swiftly adapt when a colleague drops by with a question. The ultra-ergonomic combination of Renew Sit-to-Stand Desks, Flo Monitor Supports, and Embody Chairs keeps people more active throughout the day and gives them the flexibility to place technology devices in positions that are comfortable for viewing.

“I put my desk up and down constantly throughout the day,” says Project Administrator Christyann Courtney. “If I need hyper focus, I sit down. But if someone comes over to my desk, I immediately lift it so we are standing together. It just seems a more natural way to share the space.”

Tavistock Development Company Case Study

Ergonomic design considerations such as sit-to-stand desks encourage healthy transitions between sitting and standing, and between focused and collaborative work.

Pathway to Prosperity

Accommodations such as ergonomic workstations and a more diverse, open office environment are helping people connect more and do their jobs better, while also allowing Tavistock to achieve critical business goals such as increasing efficiency.

For Senior Managing Director Rashesh Thakkar, outcomes such as these are a welcome surprise. “Initially I wasn’t sold on the idea of a more open office,” says Thakkar. “But I can see that the flexibility of the new space is energizing. People seem more inspired and happy. All of this is good for productivity.”

Tavistock Development Company Case Study

Another motivating factor for the new office had been improving the company’s ability to attract—and keep—talented employees. “Over the past couple of years prior to the move, our turnover rate was 26 percent,” says DeMars. “We are now at a 10% turnover rate for the year.”

Tavistock Development Company Case Study

From dining to celebrating to meeting, Tavistock employees are able to do a variety of social activities in the their café. Post-move surveys indicate that this multi-functional setting is one of the leading reasons why employees enjoy their new workplace.

DeMars attributes this dramatic improvement in retention to “the intangibles.” “It’s not just about the pay, it’s not just about the time off,” says DeMars. “It’s about feeling good when you come to work. It’s feeling pride and a sense of community.”

Tavistock Development Company Case Study
Tavistock Development Company Case Study

All of these changes have culminated in a significant improvement in overall workplace effectiveness and employee satisfaction for Tavistock. To quantify this improvement, Herman Miller guided leaders and employees through a Leesman Survey. While Tavistock’s previous accommodations scored 48.7 out of 100 on the Leesman Index, its new headquarters received an 85.5—more than 25 points higher than the Leesman Global Benchmark of 60.7. This excellent rating garnered Tavistock a Leesman+ accreditation.

For Tavistock’s President Jim Zboril, this means he and his team have accomplished their mission to create a workplace that better reflects company values. “This office makes the statement that we practice what we preach in our community development projects,” says Zboril. “It’s designed around people, and you can feel that when you come here. I think that’s really powerful.”