设计者:Charles和Ray Eames

Eames胡桃木凳子

实木Eames核桃凳。
 

僵坐成一座雕塑

三个Eames核桃凳,每个都有独特的轮廓。

Eames胡桃木凳子

它们真的是凳子吗?供人们就坐的地方?它们是桌子?花草架?是不是用来装饰家居、办公室或大堂的物件?是的,都是。它们被称为“抽象棋子”。嗯……又不是。这些凳子采用实心胡桃木制成,由Charles和Ray Eames操刀设计,可以在任何地方单独或成套使用,外观精美,用途多样。

三种外观可供选择
Eames胡桃木凳子的中间部分有三种不同造型的轮廓。你可以选择一个自己喜欢的,或选择两个或三个同款的或不同款的。每只凳子都是用经过加工的胡桃木制作;用手掂一掂分量,立刻就可以分辨出它是实木材质。凳子高38.1厘米,顶部直径33.02厘米,底部直径27.94厘米。

 

设计回顾

1959年建成时,时代生活大厦(Time-Life Building)是当时纽约最大的板式摩天大楼。这是一个现代建筑奇迹,其超现代主义大堂中装饰着Joseph Albers和Fritz Glarner的壁画作品。1960年,Ray Eames被委托为这座建筑的大堂设计一些临时物件,以搭配她的丈夫Charles设计的座椅。

接受过雕塑训练的Eames打造了这款胡桃木凳子,后来这款作品成了她最喜欢的座椅,摆设在她和Charles 位于太平洋帕利塞德(Pacific Palisades)的家中各处。

一位博物馆馆长曾经为自己的一双儿女订购了两只这样的凳子。“是毕业礼物吗?”人们问他。“不是,”他说,“孩子们都才只有三五岁。但我想让他们在一些真正的好东西的陪伴下长大,一些能够陪伴他们终生的东西。”

1960年9月Eames核桃凳的最终设计图。

细节并非只是细节,他们让您的产品与众不同。

更多有关Charles和Ray Eames夫妇的信息

产品设计师Ray和Charles Eames

Designed by Charles and Ray Eames

Eames Walnut Stools

Eames Walnut Stools
 

Sculpture as seating

Eames Walnut Stools

Eames Walnut Stools

Are they really stools? Places to sit? Are they tables? Plant stands? Accent pieces for homes, offices, lobbies? Yes. They've been called abstract chess pieces. Well, no. Made of solid walnut, these stools designed by Charles and Ray Eames can be used anywhere, alone or in groups, and are beautifully versatile.

Three Looks to Choose From
The center section of the Eames walnut stool is done in three distinctively shaped profiles. Choose the one you like, or choose two or three—the same or different. Each stool is made of turned walnut; pick it up—you can tell instantly that it's solid wood. 15 inches high. Top diameter 13 inches, bottom diameter 11 inches.

 

Design Story

 

At the time it was built in 1959, the Time-Life Building was the largest slab-formed skyscraper in New York. It was a modern marvel, featuring an ultra-modern lobby with murals by Joseph Albers and Fritz Glarner. In 1960, Ray Eames was asked to design occasional pieces for that lobby to accompany chairs designed by her husband, Charles.

Trained as a sculptor, Eames created the walnut stools, which became her favorite seats and were scattered all over the Pacific Palisades home she shared with Charles.

A museum curator once ordered two of these stools for his son and daughter. “Graduation gifts?” he was asked. “No,” he said, “the kids are only five and three. But I want them to have the experience of growing up with something truly good that they can keep all their lives.”

 

Eames Walnut Stools

The details are not the details, they make the product.

More about Charles & Ray Eames

Designers Charles and Ray Eames