设计者:Charles和Ray Eames

Eames成型玻璃纤维座椅

从45度角观看的蓝色Eames模压玻璃纤维侧椅的四腿版本。

结实耐用、功能齐全、外形优美,正是它之所以经典的原因

三个Eames模塑玻璃纤维座椅:绿色侧椅,蓝色扶手椅和黄色软垫侧椅。

Eames成型玻璃纤维座椅

出色的玻璃纤维

凭借玻璃纤维生产的专有新工艺,Herman Miller再次可以安全地生产1950年Eames原创成型玻璃纤维座椅,并采用了低挥发性、无单体“干粘接”工艺。与Eames原始的模压框架座椅相似,新款座椅的玻璃纤维饰面具有相同的诱人表面和清晰的玻璃纤维条纹,几十年来一直吸引着狂热的古董收藏家。

此系列座椅可选择带扶手和无扶手单椅配置及多种颜色,并可配装金属丝、暗榫桌腿、可堆叠底座和4椅腿底座等。带扶手和无扶手座椅框架都可装配各种织物的全软垫,无扶手座椅还提供带软垫的座垫款式。所有座椅都可通过Herman Miller的回收计划加以回收。壳体制造工艺以及玻璃纤维的自然属性使每个壳体都独一无二,并可以拥有独特的品质,比如表面的微小凹陷、小点、或明或暗的色彩,或在底座与塑壳相连的位置形成模糊的圆形光斑

满足各种需求

Charles Eames有句名言:“设计师的角色就是一位体贴的好主人努力预测宾客的需要。”Eames利用模压塑料、玻璃纤维和木制框架座椅以及金属丝座椅,满足了每个人对座椅的需求:适合任何体型与每个位置的简单、舒适的外形。

展示各种本世纪中叶现代家具作品照片的海报。
Ray和Charles Eames,Eames模压木凳的设计师。

多种方式

模压座椅可追溯至1939年Charles和Eero Saarinen在克兰布鲁克学院(Cranbrook Academy)对模压胶合板进行的早期研究,以及随后在威尼斯和加利福尼亚州Eames工作室与Ray合作进行的持续研究。模压座椅充分体现了Eames重复设计过程及其渴望制作“老少皆宜、物美价廉的优质产品”的设计理念。Eames使用每一种新外形、饰面和配置,不断丰富框架座椅的定义范围:试验了单一形状的胶合板与冲压金属后,他们转为使用玻璃纤维,并尝试使用弯曲钢丝;证实玻璃纤维生产危害环境后,Eames决定转为使用更安全的塑料;随着安全玻璃纤维材料的发展以及动态胶合板技术的兴起,Eames座椅设计进化为模压玻璃纤维与模压木制座椅。

适合每个人

Eames模压框架座椅采用适应性设计理念,提供无数种配置,服务于各种应用与环境。因此,Eames模压框架座椅成为值得博物馆收藏的经典设计,并在起居室、自助洗衣店、大厅和咖啡馆中得到广泛使用。也是因为这个原因,Eames模压框架座椅会是您二十几岁时购买的第一件重要家具,并且依然值得在20年后再传给您的孩子使用。丰富的框架、底座、颜色与饰面选择使您能获得高度满意的座椅。和每个人一样,每把座椅也有一个故事。

由Charles和Ray Eames设计的八把椅子的历史图像。

设计师的角色就是一位体贴的好主人努力预测宾客的需要。

更多有关Charles和Ray Eames夫妇的信息

产品设计师Ray和Charles Eames

Designed by Charles and Ray Eames

Eames Molded Fiberglass Chairs

Eames Molded Fiberglass Chairs

Enduring, functional, beautiful—that’s why it’s a classic

Eames Molded Fiberglass Chairs

Eames Molded Fiberglass Chairs

A Finer Fiberglass

Thanks to a new proprietary process of producing fiberglass, Herman Miller is once again able to produce the Eames original 1950 Molded Fiberglass Chair safely by means of a less volatile, monomer-free “dry bind” process. Like the Eameses’ original single shell chairs, our new fiberglass finish has the same covetable surface variation and tell-tale fiberglass striation that have attracted avid vintage collectors for decades.

They are available in both the arm and side chair formats in a range of archival colors, and a choice of wire, dowel leg, stacking, and 4-leg bases. Armchair and side chair shells can be fully upholstered in a variety of textiles; side chairs are available with an upholstered seat pad. All chairs can be recycled through the Herman Miller Take Back Program. The process for making shells and the nature of fiberglass mean that each shell is unique and can possess traits such as tiny cavities in the surface, small points of lighter or darker color, or faint circular shadows where base attaches to shell.

For every need

Charles Eames famously said, “The role of the designer is that of a very good, thoughtful host anticipating the needs of his guests.” With the molded plastic, fiberglass, and wood shell chairs—as well as the wire chair—the Eames have created a universal response to what everyone wants from a chair: a simple, gracious form that fits any body and every place.

Designers Charles and Ray Eames
Designers Charles and Ray Eames

In every way

Borne out of Charles’ and Eero Saarinen’s early investigations molding plywood at Cranbrook Academy in 1939, and continued with Ray at the Eames studio in Venice, California, the molded chair is exemplary of the Eames iterative process and their desire to make “the best for the most for the least.” With each new form, finish, and configuration, the Eames continued to push the boundaries of what the shell chair could be: after experimenting with single-form plywood and stamped metal, they turned to fiberglass and experimented with bent wire; when fiberglass production proved unhealthy for the environment, the decision was made to switch production to a safer plastic; and now, with advancements in safe fiberglass composition and dynamic veneer technologies, the evolution continues with the Molded Fiberglass and Molded Wood Chairs.

For everyone

The Eames Shell Chair was designed on the principle of adaptability, offering innumerable configurations to serve a wide variety of applications and environments. It’s what makes the chair a classic worthy of museum collections—and living rooms, Laundromats, lobbies, and cafés. It’s what makes it a great first piece of furniture to buy in your twenties, that’s still worthy and relevant enough to hand down to your children 20 years later. A diverse selection of shell, base, color, and finish options enable you to create your perfect chair. Just like every person, every chair has a story.

Designers Charles and Ray Eames

The role of the designer is that of a very good, thoughtful host anticipating the needs of his guests.

More about Charles & Ray Eames

Designers Charles and Ray Eames